Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Normal Topic BMW R65/80 workshop manual wanted. (Read 358 times)
brennain1
YaBB Newbies

I Love YaBB 2!

BMW R65/80 workshop manual wanted.
11/11/17 at 05:10:41
Post Tools
Hi, not sure if this is the correct location for this post but does anyone know where I can get a BMW-workshop manual or if it’s even possible to download a copy? I have a Haynes manual but believe it would be better to have a second source of reference. Cheers.

Past BMW’s
R80 RT
R80 ST

Current MZeds
ETZ250
Saxon Country 500cc Rotax.

IP Logged

BPT
God Member

I Love YaBB 2!

Re: BMW R65/80 workshop manual wanted.
Reply #1 - 11/11/17 at 11:29:30
Post Tools
I'm not sure what your skill level is but from what I've gathered (I'm a rookie), most will tell you that the actual BMW manuals are less helpful because they leave basic information out.  They are for the trained BMW mechanics who are expected to have a certain amount of knowledge already.

From what I've gathered, most recommend the Haynes and Clymer manuals and then some more specific ones like Rick's book on the charging system and I've also heard a lot of mentions of the Chi-tech book for electrical.

And then you use the Internet and this forum, of course.

1983 R65 w/ Velorex 562 Sidecar

IP Logged

marcmax
God Member

Any day on two wheels
is a good day

Reply #2 - 11/11/17 at 12:04:05
Post Tools
I received a copy of the BMW shop manual with the R65 I bought as a parts bike. I know what I am doing (or at least think I do  Grin ) and I scratch my head every time I have opened the factory manual. I spends most of its time on the shelf. For advice/information I use 1. This forum 2. Haynes manual 3. Local BMW club members and way down the list is the BMW shop manual.

Keep your bike in good repair:  motorcycle boots are not comfortable for walking.  

1982 R65ls        1984 R65ls        1991 K75

IP Logged

BPT
God Member

I Love YaBB 2!

Reply #3 - 11/11/17 at 12:20:13
Post Tools